Among the matching 30-day capped plans, Roafly has the lowest verified price at 5GB, 10GB and 20GB, while Roamless is the closest-priced alternative and Nomad lists access to two Canadian networks. Holafly serves a different use case with a seven-day unlimited plan for travelers who expect heavier mobile-data use.
Why an eSIM is useful in Canada
Canada’s cities are easy to navigate with mobile data, but distances between destinations can be substantial and service becomes less predictable on rural highways, in mountain areas and across the north. Installing an eSIM before departure provides connectivity without making an airport shop your first stop.
-
Use navigation for urban transit, intercity drives and unfamiliar highway exits.
-
Check train, bus, ferry and flight updates while moving between regions.
-
Confirm accommodation details and contact hosts immediately after landing.
-
Access translation, ride-hailing, restaurant bookings and weather information.
-
Review operator coverage maps before remote drives or national-park visits.
Main provider comparison table
The table compares the supplied 30-day capped packages on equal data tiers. Holafly remains in the same table as an unlimited-only alternative rather than being treated as directly equivalent to a capped plan.
| Provider | 5GB | 10GB | 20GB | Network | Hotspot | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roafly | $12.90 $2.58/GB |
$19.90 $1.99/GB |
$29.90 $1.50/GB |
Rogers | Supported across the purchased data allowance | Best overall value |
| Airalo | $18.00 $3.60/GB |
$23.00 $2.30/GB |
$37.50 $1.88/GB |
Bell | Not publicly specified | Existing Airalo users |
| Saily | $17.99 $3.60/GB |
$30.99 $3.10/GB |
$43.99 $2.20/GB |
Not publicly specified | Supported across the purchased data allowance | Built-in security features |
| Roamless | $14.45 $2.89/GB |
$22.95 $2.30/GB |
$36.95 $1.85/GB |
Rogers | Supported across the purchased data allowance | Reusable global eSIM |
| Nomad | $17.00 $3.40/GB |
$25.00 $2.50/GB |
$45.00 $2.25/GB |
Telus/Bell | Supported | Two disclosed networks |
| Holafly | Not offered | Not offered | Unlimited $32.90 / 7 days |
Not publicly specified | Up to 1GB per day | Heavy-week usage |
Prices, availability, validity, listed networks and terms were checked on July 31, 2026. Providers may change them at any time; review the current sales page and checkout before buying.
Roafly has the lowest total price at all three matching tiers. Its 20GB package is $7.05 below Roamless, $7.60 below Airalo, $14.09 below Saily and $15.10 below Nomad. Price is not the factor, however: Nomad discloses two underlying operators, Saily includes security tools, Roamless offers a reusable global profile, and Holafly addresses a different need with unlimited data.
Need data in Canada? Get an eSIM!
Choose the perfect data plan for your trip
Exclusive Reader Bonus!
Enjoy an extra %10 OFF your first Roafly eSIM purchase as a thank you for reading.
Manage your eSIM in the app
Install, top up and track data.
Provider reviews

Roafly
Verdict: Roafly offers the strongest overall combination of exact-tier pricing, network transparency and unrestricted tethering within the purchased allowance.
Best for: Travelers seeking the lowest verified price at 5GB, 10GB or 20GB.
Pros
-
Lowest price in every matching capped-data tier.
-
Rogers is clearly identified as the underlying Canadian network.
-
Hotspot is supported across the purchased data allowance.
Limitations
-
The compared packages are data-only and do not include a Canadian phone number.
The 10GB plan is particularly competitive at $19.90, while 20GB reduces the effective cost to about $1.50 per GB. Validity begins when the eSIM connects to a supported network, and identity verification is not required for Canada packages.
For a Canada-only trip, Canada eSIM is the relevant product.
Airalo

Verdict: Airalo is a familiar choice for travelers who already keep and manage their travel plans in its app.
Best for: Existing Airalo users who value staying within a familiar global eSIM account.
Pros
-
Bell is publicly identified as the local network.
-
All three supplied packages have 30-day validity.
-
The established app supports plan management and renewals where available.
Limitations
-
It costs more than Roafly at every matching tier.
-
Hotspot terms were not publicly specified on the Canada pages reviewed.
Airalo’s pricing becomes more competitive per gigabyte at 20GB, but its $37.50 price remains $7.60 above Roafly. The Canada packages reviewed are data-only, so travelers should retain their home SIM for ordinary SMS or use internet-based calling and messaging. (airalo.com)
Saily

Verdict: Saily is the most differentiated option for travelers who want security and privacy tools alongside their data plan.
Best for: Travelers who expect to use public Wi-Fi and value tracker blocking, malicious-site protection or virtual-location features.
Pros
-
Security features are integrated into the service.
-
Hotspot use is supported without a separately stated tethering allowance.
-
Automatic destination activation is available when the eSIM and roaming are enabled.
Limitations
-
The underlying Canadian operator is not publicly named.
-
Its 10GB and 20GB prices are among the highest in this comparison.
Saily charges $30.99 for 10GB and $43.99 for 20GB. That premium may make sense when its security tools are useful, but travelers focused mainly on basic navigation, messaging and bookings can buy the same data allowance for less elsewhere. Speed is listed as 3G, 4G, LTE or 5G depending on the local network and location.
Roamless

Verdict: Roamless combines competitive capped packages with a single reusable eSIM profile and an optional pay-as-you-go balance.
Best for: Frequent international travelers who prefer installing global profile rather than a new eSIM for each destination.
Pros
-
Rogers and 4G/5G access are publicly disclosed.
-
Hotspot is supported across the purchased data allowance.
-
Fixed packages and pay-as-you-go usage are managed through eSIM.
Limitations
-
Every matching fixed package costs more than Roafly.
-
The fixed Canada packages are data-only; separate credits are required for in-app calls.
The 5GB plan is the closest competitor to Roafly, costing $14.45 rather than $12.90. Fixed Canada plans expire after 30 days, while unused pay-as-you-go credits follow different terms and can be retained for later destinations. Travelers should distinguish between those two products before checkout.
Nomad
Verdict: Nomad provides the clearest multi-network proposition in the capped-plan group by listing both Telus and Bell.
Best for: Travelers who prioritize disclosed access to two major Canadian networks over the lowest package price.
Pros
-
Telus and Bell are both listed.
-
4G and 5G connectivity is supported, subject to plan, device and location.
-
Hotspot and tethering are supported.
Limitations
-
Its $45.00 20GB plan is the most expensive matching 20GB package.
-
Network availability and selection can still vary by plan and location.
Nomad’s dual-network disclosure is meaningful for itineraries covering several provinces, although it does not guarantee that every device will connect to both operators everywhere. Plans activate after connecting at the destination, and the destination page advises purchasing and activating within its stated activation window.
Holafly
Verdict: Holafly is the clearest fit for a-week traveler who expects heavy phone data use and specifically prefers an unlimited plan.
Best for: Seven-day trips involving frequent streaming, video calls or continuous phone use.
Pros
-
Unlimited data is offered for seven days at $32.90.
-
Bell and Telus are publicly listed.
-
The plan supports 4G and 5G where available.
Limitations
-
Fair-use management may temporarily reduce speed.
-
Hotspot sharing is limited to 1GB per day.
Holafly serves a different use case from the 30-day capped plans. Its 7-day package may be attractive when estimating total consumption is difficult, but travelers sharing data with a laptop or another person should account for the daily hotspot limit. The official policy does not publish a fixed Canada-specific high-speed allowance before fair-use management, so no such allowance should be assumed.
Local mobile networks

Canada has very high population coverage for LTE and newer mobile technologies, but national population figures can conceal gaps along remote roads, in northern communities and in mountainous terrain. The CRTC continues to identify a difference between urban coverage and connectivity in rural, remote, Indigenous and northern areas. Check the expected route—not the destination city—before depending on mobile data for a long drive.
Rogers

Rogers is the listed network for Roafly and Roamless. Its official map distinguishes 4G LTE, 5G, 5G+ and extended coverage, so travelers should zoom into individual highways, parks and accommodations rather than treating the national footprint as uniform. Recent Opensignal reporting placed Rogers first for reliability and consistency, but a travel eSIM may not receive identical routing, priority or performance to a direct Rogers subscription.
Bell
Airalo lists Bell, while Nomad and Holafly list Bell alongside Telus. Bell has extensive urban and intercity coverage, and February 2026 Opensignal results gave Bell and Telus a joint win for Coverage Experience. Actual performance still depends on the available eSIM profile, congestion, radio bands and exact location.
Telus
Telus is disclosed by Nomad and Holafly. Its coverage map includes 4G LTE and 5G layers and is useful for checking western Canadian cities, mountain corridors and rural routes. Bell and Telus may produce similar coverage scores nationally, but travelers should not assume identical service at every address or automatic access to both networks unless the purchased plan expressly lists them.
Airport and local SIM context

Physical mobile service is available at some major Canadian airports. Toronto Pearson, for example, lists a chatr Mobile outlet in Terminal 1 international arrivals from 6:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. and a Fido outlet in Terminal 1 from 6:00 a.m. to midnight. Availability, inventory and operating hours differ at other airports.
Waiting for a local SIM can be worthwhile when a Canadian number, ordinary voice calls or domestic SMS are important. The prepaid market has also shifted: Rogers directs new prepaid customers to chatr, while Bell directs new prepaid activations to Lucky Mobile. Travelers may therefore need to compare sub-brand packages rather than expecting a standard prepaid product directly from Rogers or Bell.
An eSIM is usually simpler for a short visit because it can be installed before departure and used for navigation as soon as the supported network connects. A physical SIM remains a reasonable choice for long stays, local calling or travelers whose phones do not support eSIM.
Recommendations by traveler type
Light users: Choose 5GB for maps, messaging, email and occasional browsing. Roafly is the lowest-priced matching option at $12.90, followed by Roamless at $14.45.
Typical- or two-week visitors: A 10GB plan provides more room for social media, transport apps, photo uploads and occasional video. Roafly’s $19.90 package is the lowest verified 10GB price.
Data-heavy capped-plan users: Roafly’s 20GB plan offers the lowest total cost and lowest calculated price per gigabyte. Roamless is the next-cheapest 20GB option.
Travelers prioritizing network choice: Nomad lists Telus and Bell, making it the most transparent dual-network capped option. This can be more important than price for an itinerary covering several regions.
Heavy seven-day users: Holafly is designed for travelers who prefer unlimited phone data, provided they understand the fair-use policy and 1GB-per-day hotspot allowance.
Security-focused travelers: Saily’s integrated privacy and security tools provide a clearer differentiator than price or network disclosure.
Frequent Airalo customers: Airalo is reasonable when keeping plans in an existing account matters more than obtaining the lowest Canada price.
Cross-border travelers: Those continuing to the United States or Mexico may find North America eSIM more practical than purchasing separate country packages, provided the current regional plan covers every intended destination.
FAQs
What is the best eSIM for Canada in 2026?
Roafly is the best overall option among the supplied plans because it has the lowest verified price at 5GB, 10GB and 20GB, identifies Rogers and permits hotspot use across the purchased allowance. Nomad is stronger for disclosed multi-network access, while Holafly better suits travelers specifically seeking seven days of unlimited data.
How much data do I need for Canada?
Five gigabytes can cover light navigation, messaging and bookings. Ten gigabytes is more comfortable for a- or two-week trip with regular social media and photo uploads. Twenty gigabytes is better for frequent video, remote work or extensive hotspot use.
Will a Canada travel eSIM include a local phone number?
Do not assume so. The compared capped packages are primarily data products, and Roafly’s listed Canada plans are explicitly data-only. Keep your home SIM active for incoming SMS when needed, but disable its data roaming to reduce the risk of roaming charges.
Can I use an eSIM as a hotspot in Canada?
Roafly supports hotspot use across the purchased data allowance without a separate tethering quota. Saily, Roamless and Nomad also state that hotspot or tethering is supported. Holafly permits up to 1GB of sharing per day on its Canada plan. Airalo’s Canada hotspot terms were not publicly specified on the reviewed destination pages.
Is 5G guaranteed?
No. A provider may list 5G, but the phone must support the required bands and the eSIM profile must permit 5G on an available local network. Location, terrain, network load and coverage can result in a 4G or LTE connection instead.
Should I install the eSIM before flying?
Installation before departure is usually safer because downloading a profile requires internet access. Keep the travel line disabled until instructed to activate it, and check the provider’s activation deadline and start policy so the validity period does not begin early.
Does mobile coverage work everywhere in Canada?
No mobile provider covers every road, park and remote community. National population coverage is high, but rural highways, northern areas and mountainous regions can still have weak or absent service. Download offline maps and check operator coverage estimates before remote travel.
Final verdict
Roafly is the best Canada eSIM for most travelers in this comparison. Its $12.90 5GB, $19.90 10GB and $29.90 20GB packages are the lowest matching prices, Rogers is clearly disclosed, and hotspot use is supported across the full remaining data allowance.
The other providers retain legitimate strengths. Nomad is the most compelling capped option for disclosed Bell/Telus access, Roamless suits frequent travelers wanting reusable global profile, Saily differentiates itself through security tools, Airalo works for existing users, and Holafly serves travelers who specifically need seven days of unlimited data.
This guide is published by Roafly and includes Roafly in the comparison. Provider sales pages and policies were checked on July 31, 2026; prices, networks and terms may change.

