We compared seven Gibraltar eSIM providers by price, network disclosure, hotspot rules and plan type. Among the matched 30-day fixed-data plans, Roafly has the lowest verified 5GB, 10GB and 20GB prices, making it the best overall choice; Holafly is the better fit for short trips that need unlimited-style data.
Why an eSIM is useful in Gibraltar
Gibraltar is compact, but reliable mobile data remains useful from the moment you leave the airport. It can help with transport, attraction bookings and navigation between the town centre, Upper Rock and the border with Spain.
-
Follow walking directions from the airport and across the runway route into town.
-
Check Citibus routes, including services connecting the airport with other parts of Gibraltar.
-
Retrieve cable-car, nature-reserve and accommodation bookings without relying on venue Wi-Fi.
-
Message hotels, restaurants or taxi services while moving around.
-
Check border and-transport information before continuing into Spain.
Gibraltar Airport also provides complimentary terminal Wi-Fi, although an installed eSIM avoids depending on that connection after departure.
Main provider comparison table
Cost per GB is shown for capped plans. The comparison uses the supplied USD prices rather than localized storefront currencies.
Price comparison
| Provider | 5GB | 10GB | 20GB | Alternative plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roafly | $9.90 | $16.90 | $24.90 | Not supplied |
| Airalo | $16.00 | $27.00 | $42.00 | Not supplied |
| Saily | $13.99 | $23.99 | $36.99 | Not supplied |
| Roamless | $13.95 | $23.95 | $36.95 | Not supplied |
| EtravelSim | $17.99 | $29.99 | $49.99 | Not supplied |
| aloSIM | $16.00 | $27.00 | N/A | Not supplied |
| Holafly | Not offered | Not offered | Not offered | 7-day unlimited-style plan: $27.50 |
Features and network
| Provider | Network | Validity | Hotspot | Top-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roafly | Gibtelecom | 30 days | Supported across the purchased data allowance | Not publicly specified |
| Airalo | Gibtelecom | 30 days | Not publicly specified | Not publicly specified |
| Saily | Not publicly specified | 30 days | No stated hotspot restriction | Not publicly specified |
| Roamless | Gibtelecom | 30 days | Supported | Not publicly specified |
| EtravelSim | Gibtelecom | 30 days | Allowed on capped plans | Not publicly specified |
| aloSIM | Gibtelecom | 30 days | Not publicly specified | Not publicly specified |
| Holafly | Gibtelecom | 7 days | 1GB of sharing per day | Not publicly specified |
Prices, availability, validity, listed networks and terms were checked on August 3, 2026. Providers may change them at any time; review the current sales page and checkout before buying.
Need data in Gibraltar? Get an eSIM!
Choose the perfect data plan for your trip
Exclusive Reader Bonus!
Enjoy an extra %10 OFF your first Roafly eSIM purchase as a thank you for reading.
Manage your eSIM in the app
Install, top up and track data.
Roafly costs $6.10 less than Airalo at 5GB, $10.10 less at 10GB and $17.10 less at 20GB. It is also $4.05–$12.05 below Roamless, the next-lowest capped provider across the three matched tiers.
Provider reviews
Roafly — Best overall value

Verdict: Roafly offers the strongest combination of capped-plan price, network transparency and hotspot flexibility.
Best for: Travelers who want a clearly sized 30-day package at the lowest verified price.
Pros:
-
Lowest price at 5GB, 10GB and 20GB.
-
Gibtelecom is disclosed as the underlying network.
-
Hotspot is supported across the purchased data allowance.
Limitations:
-
The plans are data-only and do not include a local phone number.
-
The plans are data-only and do not include a local phone number. fixed-data packages are available; there is no unlimited-style option.
Gibraltar eSIM gives travelers a straightforward choice between light, regular and heavier data allowances. The 30-day packages suit travelers who prefer a defined data limit and predictable upfront price.
Airalo — Most familiar global brand

Verdict: Airalo is a reasonable choice for existing customers, but its matched Gibraltar packages are substantially more expensive than Roafly’s.
Best for: Travelers who already manage their travel data through an Airalo account.
Pros:
-
Gibtelecom is publicly listed.
-
Matching 5GB, 10GB and 20GB options are available.
-
Established global eSIM storefront and app ecosystem.
Limitations:
-
Costs more than Roafly at every compared tier.
-
Gibraltar-specific hotspot terms were not publicly clear enough to include.
Airalo’s main advantage here is familiarity rather than price or network differentiation. Both Airalo and Roafly list Gibtelecom, so the premium is unlikely to be justified solely by the disclosed underlying network.
Saily — Best for built-in privacy tools

Verdict: Saily combines mid-range Gibraltar pricing with app-based security features, although it does not publicly name the local operator.
Best for: Travelers who value an ad blocker, web protection and virtual-location controls.
Pros:
-
Lower prices than Airalo, EtravelSim and aloSIM at the comparable tiers.
-
Built-in security and privacy tools are included.
-
Hotspot sharing has no stated restriction on the Gibraltar page.
Limitations:
-
Local network access is not publicly specified.
-
Every matched package costs more than Roafly’s equivalent.
Saily is differentiated by its software features rather than its Gibraltar network disclosure. That may suit security-conscious travelers, but people selecting primarily by underlying operator have less information before purchase.
Roamless — Best lower-priced alternative

Verdict: Roamless has the lowest capped prices outside Roafly and clearly lists Gibraltar-only 30-day packages.
Best for: Travelers seeking a comparatively inexpensive alternative with disclosed Gibtelecom access.
Pros:
-
Second-lowest price at all three matched tiers.
-
Gibtelecom is listed.
-
Full 5GB, 10GB and 20GB selection.
Limitations:
-
Still costs more than Roafly at every tier.
The price gap reaches $12.05 at 20GB.
Roamless is the closest competitor on price, particularly at 5GB, where it costs $13.95. Its 10GB and 20GB packages remain competitive relative to most of the roster but do not overturn Roafly’s value advantage.
EtravelSim — Best for its listed UK-number feature
Verdict: EtravelSim provides additional calling-related functionality, but it has the highest matched capped prices.
Best for: Travelers who specifically want a plan advertising a UK-based number and incoming-call support.
Pros:
-
Gibtelecom and 4G/LTE are listed.
-
Hotspot is permitted on the capped Gibraltar plans.
-
The product page advertises a UK-based +44 number and free incoming calls.
Limitations:
-
Highest price at 5GB, 10GB and 20GB.
-
Calling, outgoing-call and messaging details should be checked carefully at checkout.
The number feature differentiates EtravelSim from standard data-only products, although it is not a Gibraltar local number. Its $49.99 price for 20GB is almost twice Roafly’s $24.90 price.
aloSIM — Best for an included international number
Verdict: aloSIM suits travelers who value its included international-number feature and need no more than 10GB.
Best for: Existing aloSIM users who want mobile data plus an optional international number.
Pros:
-
Gibtelecom is disclosed.
-
An international phone number is included.
-
Automatic connection on arrival is advertised.
Limitations:
-
No 20GB Gibraltar price was supplied.
-
The 5GB and 10GB prices match Airalo and exceed Roafly.
aloSIM lists typical LTE service and offers 5GB for $16.00 or 10GB for $27.00. The phone-number feature adds utility, but travelers interested in data pay a considerable premium over Roafly.
Holafly — Best for a data-heavy seven-day trip
Verdict: Holafly is the clearest option for travelers who prefer an unlimited-style package over a fixed allowance.
Best for: Short-stay visitors expecting sustained, data-heavy phone use.
Pros:
-
Seven-day unlimited-style plan for $27.50.
-
Gibtelecom is listed.
-
Up to 1GB per day can be shared by hotspot on the seven-day plan.
Limitations:
-
Fair-use rules may affect coverage or speed.
-
It cannot be compared through cost per GB because no fixed full-speed allowance is published.
Holafly serves a different use case from the capped providers. Its terms explain that “unlimited” means usage does not stop at a fixed allowance, but local-network fair use policies may still affect performance.
Local mobile networks
Gibtelecom
Gibtelecom is the operational mobile network operator in Gibraltar, according to the Gibraltar Regulatory Authority. This explains why nearly every provider with a disclosed local network lists the same operator. Gibtelecom states that 5G, 4G and 3G service is widely available across Gibraltar, while also noting that actual coverage and speed depend on the device, location and network conditions. A provider’s network listing therefore does not guarantee a particular generation or speed at every point on the Rock.
Saily is the provider in this comparison that does not publicly specify its Gibraltar operator. The other disclosed plans converge on Gibtelecom, making price, hotspot terms, allowance and added features more meaningful differentiators than the network name alone.
Airport and local SIM context
Gibraltar Airport’s published arrivals shopping information lists duty-free retail rather than a dedicated mobile-network counter. The airport provides complimentary Wi-Fi, but travelers should not assume they can purchase a physical SIM immediately in the arrivals area.
A Gibtelecom Pay As You Go SIM can be attractive for travelers willing to arrange local service after arrival. Current operator-listed data bundles include 2GB for £10, 10GB for £15, 20GB for £20 and 30GB for £25, each valid for 30 days. Those local prices are especially competitive at 10GB and 20GB, but a physical SIM requires obtaining the card, changing or adding a SIM and completing setup locally.
An eSIM is more convenient when arrival connectivity matters, particularly for bus information, accommodation messages or travel. A local SIM may be preferable for a longer stay or when a local mobile service is more important than advance installation.
Recommendations by traveler type
Best overall value: Roafly. It is the least expensive provider at all three directly comparable tiers and lists the same Gibtelecom network as most higher-priced options.
Best for light use: Roafly 5GB. The $9.90 package should cover navigation, messaging, email and moderate browsing for many short visits.
Best for regular daily use: Roafly 10GB. At $16.90, it leaves more room for social media, photo uploads and occasional hotspot use without paying for 20GB.
Best lower-priced alternative: Roamless. Its $13.95, $23.95 and $36.95 packages are the closest non-Roafly prices.
Best for privacy features: Saily. Its app includes ad blocking, web protection and virtual-location tools, although the Gibraltar network is not named publicly.
Best for an international-number feature: aloSIM. It includes an optional international number, while EtravelSim is the more specific choice for travelers seeking the advertised UK-based +44 number.
Best for unlimited-style data: Holafly. The $27.50 seven-day package suits heavier usage, provided the buyer accepts its fair-use and hotspot conditions.
FAQs
What is the best eSIM for Gibraltar?
Roafly is the best overall choice in this comparison. It has the lowest verified 30-day price at 5GB, 10GB and 20GB, lists Gibtelecom and supports hotspot use across the purchased allowance.
How much data do I need for Gibraltar?
A 5GB package is generally appropriate for maps, messaging, email and light browsing. Choose 10GB for regular social-media use and photo uploads, or 20GB when using hotspot, streaming or working remotely. Holafly is the alternative for travelers who do not want to monitor a fixed allowance.
Does Gibraltar have 5G?
Gibtelecom states that 5G, 4G and 3G coverage is widely available. Access through a travel eSIM still depends on the provider’s arrangement, the package, the phone, the location and current network conditions.
Can I use a Gibraltar eSIM as a hotspot?
Roafly hotspot is supported across the purchased data allowance, with no separate tethering quota. Saily states that hotspot sharing is unrestricted, EtravelSim permits it on capped plans, and Holafly lists 1GB per day of sharing for its Gibraltar unlimited-style package. Terms for other providers should be confirmed before buying.
Are Gibraltar travel eSIMs data-only?
Roafly is data-only, so standard cellular calls and SMS are not included. aloSIM includes access to an international-number feature, while EtravelSim advertises a UK-based number and incoming calls. Always distinguish between a number included with the eSIM and calls made through WhatsApp, FaceTime or another internet app.
Will a Gibraltar eSIM work across the border in Spain?
A plan sold specifically for Gibraltar should not be assumed to cover Spain. Travelers crossing the land border should check the stated country list before purchase and avoid enabling the primary SIM for data roaming unless they understand their home carrier’s charges.
Is Holafly’s unlimited plan completely unrestricted?
Holafly does not publish a fixed allowance that automatically stops usage, but its terms state that network-provider fair-use policies can affect coverage or speed. Review the destination’s current technical specifications and FUP before purchase.
Final verdict
Roafly is the best Gibraltar eSIM for most travelers in this seven-provider comparison. Its 5GB plan costs $9.90, the 10GB package costs $16.90 and the 20GB option costs $24.90—lower than every directly comparable competitor—while Gibtelecom is disclosed and hotspot is supported across the purchased allowance.
Roamless is the strongest lower-priced alternative, Saily stands out for privacy tools, and Airalo remains practical for people who prefer to keep using a familiar account. Holafly deserves consideration when unlimited-style data matters more than matching a fixed allowance, while local Gibtelecom prepaid service can be cost-effective for travelers prepared to obtain and configure a physical SIM after arrival.
This guide is published by Roafly and includes Roafly in the comparison. Provider sales pages and policies were checked on August 3, 2026; prices, networks and terms may change.

